The thing about horses

Featured imageWhy a post about horses on my English teaching blog? Well, I guess because that’s how I started teaching. It’s a long story, and I’m going to spoil the ending right now by telling you that I wasn’t very successful at it, but I learned more about teaching in those 8 years than any professional development that I’ve ever had. In many areas of my life, I often wish I had it to do over again so that I wouldn’t make the same mistakes, but not with my horses. If I had to do it all over again, I wouldn’t want it go any differently than it did. I made more mistakes than I care to admit, but the lessons I learned were powerful.

Some of the things I learned about training horses:

– Work in a round pen. You don’t want to get a horse in a corner.

– Trying for too much because you’ve had some success just gets you bucked off.

– You need to have a picture in your mind of what you want to do.

– If you want the horse to trust you, you have to earn it.

– Put the relationship with your horse first.

– Ultimately, you’re not working on the horse, you’re working on yourself.

These lessons were all learned the hard way, so they stuck. I had some success with training horses, but I was a much slower learner than any of the horses I tried to train. The failures were humbling. Teaching people is much, much easier.

Leave a Reply

